RARA-AVIS: Thirller and THE STRAND Magazine Critics Awards shortlists (< Bill Crider's PCM)

From: foxbrick ( foxbrick@yahoo.com)
Date: 20 Mar 2008

Finalists for the 2008 Thriller Awards! By Joe Moore Drum roll please!

After much arduous and painstaking labor by our three panels of esteemed judges--overseen and orchestrated by this year's Award Chair, the talented Vicki Hinze--the nominees for this year's "Thriller" awards have been selected. Out of a field of over five hundred books, the list has been winnowed down to five titles in each of the following categories:  Best Novel, Best First Novel, and Best Paperback Original.

The winners will be announced this summer at Thrillerfest 2008 at the Grand Hyatt in New York City during a gala banquet on Saturday, July 12th.

But why keep you in the dark any longer?  Without further ado, here is the list of nominees in each category:


No Time For Goodbye by Linwood Barclay (Bantam) The Watchman by Robert Crais (Simon & Schuster) The Ghost by Robert Harris (Simon & Schuster) The Crime Writer by Gregg Hurwitz (Viking) Trouble by Jesse Kellerman (Putnam)


Interred With Their Bones by Jennifer Lee Carrell (Dutton) Big City, Bad Blood by Sean Chercover (William Morrow) From the Depths by Gerry Doyle (McBook Press) Volk's Game by Brent Ghelfi (Henry Holt and Co.) Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill (William Morrow)


The Last Nightingale by Anthony Flacco (Ballantine) A Thousand Bones by P.J. Parrish (Pocket) The Midnight Road by Tom Piccirilli (Bantam) The Queen of Bedlam by Robert McCammon (Pocket) Shattered by Jay Bonansinga (Pinnacle)

And lastly, I wanted to pass on a special thank-you and acknowledgment to this year's panel of judges.  They each deserve a huge congratulation for all the hard work and sleepless nights during this year-long judging process.  Without their painstaking labor, none of this would have happened.  So if you see them at ThrillerFest, pat them on the back, buy them a drink, or order one of their books...or better yet, do all of the above!

Award Chair Vicki Hinze

BEST NOVEL Joseph Finder, Chief Judge Jeff Ayers Carolyn Haines Lisa Unger Allen Wyler

BEST FIRST NOVEL Allison Brennan, Chief Judge Nelson Erlick Elaine Flinn David Montgomery Patricia Rosemoor

BEST PAPERBACK ORIGINAL Phillip Margolin, Chief Judge Lisa Scottoline Liam Jackson Deborah LeBlanc C.J. Lyons


The Strand Critics Award Takes a Bow

I know, it's yet another award nomination list, but this time _the Strand Magazine_ has assembled an impressive list of judges including David Montgomery, Hallie Ephron, Patrick Anderson, Dick Lochte, Larry Gandle, Oline Cogdill and myself [Sarah Weinnman], along with the magazine's publisher Andrew Gulli. Here are the nominees:

Best Novel Down River by John Hart (St Martin's Minotaur) The Shotgun Rule by Charlie Huston (Ballantine Books) The Strangler by William Landay (Delacorte Press) The Watchman by Robert Crais (Simon and Schuster) What the Dead Know by Laura Lippman (William Morrow)

Best First Novel The Blade Itself by Marcus Sakey (St. Martin's Minotaur) In the Woods by Tana French (Viking) The Mark by Jason Pinter (Mira Books) Missing Witness by Gordon Campbell (William Morrow) When One Man Dies by Dave White (Crown Publishing)

The winners in both categories will be announced in New York on July 9.

This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : 20 Mar 2008 EDT