From: AKarim1462@aol.com
Date: 08 Oct 2003

Hot off the press



The Crime Writers' Association announces its short lists for its Daggers Awards 2003.

Winners (with one exception) will be announced and Daggers presented at the CWA 50th Jubilee Dagger Awards Lunch at the Brewery, Chiswell Street, London on Thursday 13 November.

(The exception is the winner of the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, to be announced at the Savoy on the evening of Wednesday 22 October.)

All books are listed alphabetically by order of Author's name.

Gold & Silver Daggers for Fiction: Cash prizes £3,000 & £2,000

Boris Akunin - The Winter Queen - Weidenfeld & Nicholson Morag Joss - Half Broken Things - Hodder & Stoughton Robert Littell - The Company - Macmillan Carlo Lucarelli - Almost Blue - Harvill Minette Walters - Fox Evil - Macmillan Robert Wilson - The Blind Man Of Seville - HarperCollins

Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction:
£2,000 Michael Bilton - Wicked Beyond Belief - HarperCollins Erik Larson - Devil In The White City - Doubleday Chandak Sengoopta - Imprint Of The Raj - Macmillan Donald Thomas - Underworld At War - John Murray Peter Walsh - Gang War - Milo Books Samantha Weinberg - Pointing From The Grave - Hamish Hamilton

The CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger For first books by previously unpublished writers Sponsored by BBC Audio
£1,000 Rod Duncan - Backlash - Pocketbooks William Landay - Mission Flats - Bantam CJ Sansom - Dissolution - Macmillan

The CWA Short Story Dagger
£1,500 Marion Arnott - Dollface Judith Cutler - Doctor's Orders Kate Ellis - Les Inconnus Anthony Mann - Ester Gordon Framlingham Jerry Sykes - Closer To The Flame

CWA Dagger In The Library Sponsored by Random House. Nominated and judged by librarians. £1,500 Awarded to an author for a body of work, not one single title. Stephen Booth Christopher Brookmyre Anne Cleeves Julia Parsons Mike Ripley

The CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger For thrillers. Sponsored by Ian Fleming Publications Ltd. £2,000 Lee Child - Persuader - Transworld Roger Jon Ellroy - Candlemouth - Orion Dan Fesperman - The Small Boat of Great Sorrows - Transworld Bantam Lucretia Grindle - The Nightspinners - Pan Macmillan Robert Littell - The Company - Pan Macmillan Henry Porter - Empire State - Orion Gerald Seymour - Traitor's Kiss - Transworld Bantam

The CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger Sponsored by the estate of Ellis Peters and her publishers, Headline and Little Brown. £3,000. The White Russian - Tom Bradby - Bantam Press The Advocate - Marcello Fois - Harvill Press London Dust - Lee Jackson - Arrow Blood on the Wood - Gillian Linscott - Virago Dissolution - C.J. Sansom - Macmillan The Bridge of Sighs - Olen Steinhauer- Century The American Boy - Andrew Taylor - Harper Collins

The CWA Debut Dagger

For unpublished books, awarded on the basis of one chapter and a synopsis. Set up to encourage new writers. Sponsored by Orion. £250

Duncan Brewer -- The Woman From Smyrna Sandra Charan -- The Third Room Margaret Dumas -- Speak Now Kirsty Evans -- The Cuckoo Avriel Geneson -- Speak No Evil Judy Larkin -- Without Apparent Reason Peter Wynn Norris -- The Long Train Bryon Quertermous -- Lunchbox Hero Chris Rose - Driftlines Melissa Kate Rowberry -- The Mouths of Men Maria E. Schneider -- Soul of the Desert Michael Shenton -- The Amazing GM Dog Betty Jacque -- Days of Future Past Otis Twelve -- On the Albi

Notes to media. For background info on the Crime Writers' Association and the Dagger Awards please see our website www.thecwa.co.uk

# Plain ASCII text only, please.  Anything else won't show up.
# To unsubscribe from the regular list, say "unsubscribe rara-avis" to
# majordomo@icomm.ca.  This will not work for the digest version.
# The web pages for the list are at http://www.miskatonic.org/rara-avis/ .

This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : 08 Oct 2003 EDT