RARA-AVIS: Barry Awards Bouchercon

From: AKarim1462@aol.com
Date: 24 Sep 2003

Hi all,

I would like to remind all DP Subscribers to make sure you vote in the annual Barry Awards which will be presented on the Thursday (October 16) night opening ceremonies of Bouchercon 34, to be held in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Firstly only Subscribers of George Easter's Deadly Pleasures Magazine are eligible to vote from the shortlist produced by the Barry Award Nominations Committee. The voting form is in #39 which is due out shortly (incidentally features a big piece I did with Lee Child earlier this year) :-

DP Issue #39


However due to the awards being at Bouchercon in a matter of weeks,George is allowing voters to Email their votes direct to him (see link below), however he is keeping an eye on email-names to ensure that no 'mass emailings' or vote rigging takes place.

Deadly Pleasures is stocked at many good mystery stores but you can subscribe via credit card.

Info on Barry Awards and Email voting


The History of the Barry Award


The Barry Award nomination committee is comprised of George Easter (Deadly Pleasures publisher-editor), Russ Isabella, Maggie Mason, Larry Gandle, Beth Fedyn, Barbara Peters (Poisoned Pen Bookstore owner), Ali Karim (British "superfan") and Pat Frovarp (owner of Once Upon a Crime). The winners are to be selected by Deadly Pleasures subscribers.

The Barry Awards will be presented on the Thursday (October 16) night opening ceremonies of Bouchercon 34, to be held in Las Vegas, Nevada.

BARRY AWARD NOMINEES 2003 Deadly Pleasures' Barry Award nomination committee has announced the 2003 Barry Award nominees as follows:

Best Novel: WITHOUT FAIL, by Lee Child (Putnam), featuring Jack Reacher THE HEARSE CASE SCENARIO, by Tim Cockey (Hyperion), featuring Hitchcock Sewell CITY OF BONES, by Michael Connelly (Little Brown), featuring Harry Bosch NORTH OF NOWHERE, by Steve Hamilton (St. Martin's), featuring Alex McKnight HELL TO PAY, by George Pelecanos (Little Brown), featuring Derek Strange and Terry Quinn WINTER AND NIGHT, by S. J. Rozan (St. Martin's), featuring Bill Smith and Lydia Chin

Best First Novel: THE DEVIL'S REDHEAD, by David Corbett (Ballantine) NOT ALL TARTS ARE APPLE, by Pip Granger (Poisoned Pen Press) THE BLUE EDGE OF MIDNIGHT, by Jonathon King (Dutton), introducing Max Freeman THE DISTANCE, by Eddie Muller (Scribner), introducing Billy Nichols BUCK FEVER, by Ben Rehder (St. Martin's) IN A BLEAK MIDWINTER, by Julia Spencer-Fleming (St. Martin's)

Best British Novel: SCAREDY CAT, by Mark Billingham (Little Brown UK), featuring Tom Thorne THE MASTER OF RAIN, by Tom Bradby (Bantam UK) THE WHITE ROAD, by John Connolly (Hodder & Stoughton), featuring Charlie Parker THE BUSINESS OF DYING, by Simon Kernick (Bantam UK) DIAMOND DUST, by Peter Lovesey (Little Brown UK), featuring Peter Diamond THE YEARE'S MIDNIGHT, by Ed O'Connor (Constable)

Best Paperback Original: BLACK JACK POINT, by Jeff Abbott (Onyx), featuring Whit Mosely FATAL TRUTH, by Robin Burcell (Avon), featuring Kate Gillespie COLD SILENCE, by Danielle Girard (Onyx) THE BONE ORCHARD, by D. Daniel Judson (Bantam), featuring Declan MacManus PRISON BLUES, by Anna Salter (Pocket Books)BR> PIPSQUEAK, by Brian Wiprud (iUniverse)

Subscribing to DP :-


My vote was cast a few weeks ago - so may the best man/woman win!

Good Luck and See you in Vegas !


PS George Easter has a rather informative message board at the DP Website :-


# Plain ASCII text only, please.  Anything else won't show up.
# To unsubscribe from the regular list, say "unsubscribe rara-avis" to
# majordomo@icomm.ca.  This will not work for the digest version.
# The web pages for the list are at http://www.miskatonic.org/rara-avis/ .

This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : 24 Sep 2003 EDT