RARA-AVIS: Early Pelecanos

From: Peter Davis ( yourflesh@worldnet.att.net)
Date: 11 Aug 2000


> The order to the quartet is:

Big Blowdown King Suckerman Sweet Forever Shame the Devil

Which is novels five through eight.

These four later titles are a complete thread from start to finish.

His four previous novels in order are:

A Firing Offense (Nick Steffanos series) Nick's Trip (Nick Steffanos) Shoedog (stand alone novel) Down by the River Where the Dead Men Go (Nick Steffanos)

I'm happy to say that I managed to catch them all in order with the exception of Shoedog which was my first and what hooked me!

Just got my mitts on a manuscript copy of his next, "Right as Rain." Its slated for release in February of 2001. For those of you who are interested, here's the synopsis:

" a bold new series featuring an unlikely duo investigating killings by police in the streets of Washington, D.C. [natch!]..."

"...Derek Strange is a black ex-cop in Washington, D.C. who now makes a living running his own private detective agency. He is hired to investigate the killing of an off-duty black policeman by a white police officer--a killing that was supposedly accidental, but that has opened difficult questions about racism on the force. In the course of that investigation the white officer, Terry Quinn, becomes Strange's friend and then his partner. Together they try to uncover what really happened that night when Quinn came upon a confusing and treacherous crime scene. Along the way they confront the kingpins of a flourishing drug trade and some implacable, dead-eyed killers..."

I'll probably have something to say about it all shortly after the weekend.

Peter D. Your Flesh Mag

> Date: Thu, 10 Aug 2000 22:29:15 -0500 (CDT)
> From: billha@ionet.net (Bill Hagen)
> Subject: RARA-AVIS: Early Pelecanos
> Some have talked about a "Washington Quartet," but all the novels center on
> DC and a loose group of characters who connect to the Greeks--Old Nick, his
> son Nick, Costa and Dimitri. All of the novels can be lined up into a
> chronology involving these characters, starting with The Big Blowdown. The
> weaving of characters and places through the different novels offers
> unexpected riches, a world one enters.
> Anyone know how the order would go after Blowdown? Expect A Firing
> Offense might be second, and Nick's Trip third. After that?

# To unsubscribe from the regular list, say "unsubscribe rara-avis" to
# majordomo@icomm.ca.  This will not work for the digest version.
# The web pages for the list are at http://www.miskatonic.org/rara-avis/ .

This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : 11 Aug 2000 EDT