Re: RARA-AVIS: Block/Scudder

Mark Sullivan (
Tue, 21 Jul 1998 22:50:36 -0400 (EDT) You are definitely right. It is all too rare to have a character
actually evolve. I usually try to read a series in order, but very
seldom is it neessary, as each book is pretty much interchangable and
could happen in any order.

This, of course, is different from Ted Lewis's Carter series which could
happen in no order. First there was Get Carter--that wasn't the original
title, but I have the movie tie-in paperback (great movie with Michael
Caine, by the way); I think it was called Jack's Return Home. Later,
Lewis needed returned to his most popular character, Jack Carter, and
wrote two more--Jack Carter and the Mafia Pigeon and Jack Carter's Law.
Not to give too much away, but various people die in each of these
books, yet each book starts with the full cast. So there is no possible
order in which they can be read and made sense of; they exist in an
eternal moment, I guess.


# To unsubscribe, say "unsubscribe rara-avis" to
# The web pages for the list are at